Hancock County Assessor Hancock County Indiana Auditor Hancock County GIS/Tax Information
Hancock County Indiana Clerk Hancock County Commissioners Hancock County Indiana Ordinances/Resolutions
Hancock County Council Hancock County Courts Hancock County Indiana News/Public Notices
Hancock County Emergency Hancock County Economic Development Council Hancock County Indiana Forms/Applications
Hancock County Election Office Hancock County Emergency Management Hancock County Indiana Doxpop/Records
Hancock County Extensions Hancock County Health Department Hancock County Indiana Permits
Hancock County Highway Department Hancock County Indiana Offices Hancock County Indiana Election News
Hancock County Planning & Building Hancock County Probation Department Hancock County ADA Coordinator
Hancock County Prosecutor's Office Hancock County Recorder Hancock County Animal Control
Hancock County Sheriff's Department Hancock County Surveyor Hancock County Indiana Convention & Visitors Bureau
Hancock County Treasurer

Your Comprehensive Source for the Hancock County, Indiana, Government

Hancock County was formed in 1828 and named after John Hancock, President of the Continental Congress. The county government is a constitutional body made up of the County Council, Board of Commissioners, Court and County Officials.

County Council: The County Council is the Fiscal Body of the county government and controls all the spending and revenue collection in the county. Representatives are elected from county districts and at large. The council members serve four year terms. They are responsible for setting salaries and the annual budget.

Board of Commissioners: The board of Commissioners is the executive body of the county government. The commissioners are elected county-wide, in staggered terms, and each serves a four-year term. The commissioners are charged with managing the day-to-day functions of the county government.

Court: The county maintains a small claims court that can handle some civil cases. The judge on the court is elected to a term of four years and must be a member of the Indiana Bar Association. The judge is assisted by a constable who is also elected to a four-year term.

County Officials: The county has several other elected offices, including Sheriff, Coroner, Auditor, Treasurer, Recorder, Surveyor, and Circuit Court Clerk. Each of these elected officers serves a term of four years.

Hancock County, Indiana, includes the following cities:

Cumberland | Fortville | Greenfield | McCordsville | New Palestine | Shirley | Spring Lake | Wilkinson

Hancock County, Indiana, includes the following townships:

Blue River | Brandywine | Brown | Buck Creek | Center | Green | Jackson | Sugar Creek | Vernon

Community Alert

Holiday Schedule


  • Tax Deadline

    Taxes are always due May 10th and November 12th, unless this date falls on a holiday or weekend, then the deadline will be the next business day.

    Read more ...

Upcoming Events

Drainage Board Meeting
March 05, 2020 8:00 am

Drainage Board Meeting
April 02, 2020 8:00 am

Drainage Board Meeting
May 07, 2020 8:00 am

Drainage Board Meeting
June 04, 2020 8:00 am

Drainage Board Meeting
July 02, 2020 8:00 am

Search Site